top of page
  • Writer's pictureShona

Camping + Open Fire Cooking

Updated: Aug 9, 2021

You guys! I am so excited, I was finally able to use my new camping/hiking gear that I got as a gift for Christmas from the BF. I have been waiting for a weekend where we could pack up, take off, set up camp and enjoy everything there is about nature! Since Clinton State Park has two different camp sites open year around, that's where we headed! Besides an annual bike race and a mean game of Irish bowling going on (that was interesting)...it was pretty open which meant more space for us!


We found the perfect location too, away from all of the campers and cabins but with a view of the lake and right next to the trails for a little adventuring. We did it up good too...tent, sleeping bags, campfire cooking, cutting our own firewood, and even finding a few treasures to display at our site while we were there. Rodney and Wilson, keep reading and you will see who I am talking about. We also took Lola for a swim in the lake and she loved every minute of it!


First off, I can not get over my new hiking pack by Osprey...one word, orange. He did good with a matching sleeping bag and a comfy cushion to go underneath. Funny story about those cushions...they self inflate, which I didn't realize until we were ready to go to sleep but hey, one tiny turn of the air valve and poof, inflation. Note to self, read directions. Can I just say I was unsure how warm I would stay but the sleeping bag, rated at 20 degree's, kept me nice and cozy! Plus, we had an amazing blanket from Tyler Kingston Shop that is just the right size for two, although I am guessing I had it most of the night.


It was a great weekend to get away and enjoy being outside and live pretty darn simple for two days. We had these great meals from Backpackers Pantry and Mountain House and the most handy cookware to use over the fire. We tried the red beans and rice for dinner and for breakfast a blend of hash-browns, sausage, eggs and peppers. Enough for two people per meal and very filling. We cooked oatmeal, made hot tea, hot dogs, and s'mores...because you can't go camping without s'mores. That is a staple! I was very impressed with these meals and they will be great for future trips! Don't worry, we had water and maybe a few cans of beer too...we stayed hydrated!


To those people who tell me I don't look like the "camping type", think again! It was seriously one of the best weekends I have had recently and I spent it with one of my favorite people. Just the outdoors, sounds of nature, trail walking, treasure hunting, and star gazing...and it's only just the beginning.

Location: Clinton Lake, Kansas


Explore more,

Shona

Follow Me ↠ #kcgypsea


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page